Supporter Royal Society of Victoria



The Royal Society of Victoria was founded in 1854 and is Victoria's oldest learned society. Its aim is to contribute to the advancement of science and, through science, to the good of the Victorian community.

The Society carries out this aim by:

  • providing a forum for discussion of scientific and technological issues relevant to the community;
  • bridging the communication gap between scientific disciplines;
  • bringing significant scientific and technological issues to the attention of government and other decision makers.

Since its foundation in 1854, the Royal Society of Victoria has had sixty-four presidencies. Three of the earliest Presidents were Captain Andrew Clarke, the Surveyor General, Mr Justice Redmond Barry, First Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria, and Baron Sir Ferdinand von Mueller, Government Botanist and Director of the Botanic Gardens, three visionaries who set the foundations for the broad and deep scientific infrastructure that supports modern Victoria.

Development of these pages was made possible through the project, Science and the Making of Victoria, supported by the Victorian Government through the Centenary of Federation and the Community Support Fund.

Centenary of Federation Victoria Community Support Fund

Foundation Supporter of