Browse Entries

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Corporate entry

  • Trove

Corporate entry CSIRO Division of Radiophysics (1940 - 1996)

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Epping, New South Wales, Australia
20 September 1996
Industrial or scientific research and Telecommunications
Reference No
CA 4374
Legal Status
Agency of the Commonwealth of Australia
Epping, New South Wales


The Division of Radiophysics was first established in 1940, replacing the Radiophysics Laboratory. The Division continued to operate up until 1996, when it was merged with the Division of Applied Physics to become the Division of Telecommunications and Industrial Physics.


 1939 - 1940 CSIR Radiophysics Laboratory
       1940 - 1996 CSIRO Division of Radiophysics
             1972 - 1983 CSIRO Division of Cloud Physics
             1996 - CSIRO Division of Telecommunications and Industrial Physics

Related People

Published resources


  • Historical Directory of Council for Scientific and Industrial Research and Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, 1926-1976, CSIRO, Canberra, 1978, 101 pp. Details
  • Deane, John, 1939-1984: a Picture History of CSIRO Radiophysics, CSIRO, Melbourne, 1985, 69 pp. Details

Book Sections

  • Ryan, Brian, 'Cloud physics research 1949-1984 and beyond', in Webb, Eric K. (ed.), Windows on Meteorology: Australian Perspective, CSIRO Publishing, Melbourne, 1997, pp. 142-161. Details

Journal Articles

  • Davies, R.D., 'A History of the Potts Hill Radio Astronomy Field Station', Journal of Astronomical History and Heritage, vol. 8, no. 2, 2005, pp. 87-96. Details

Online Resources

See also

Ailie Smith