Browse Entries

Award Australian Natural History Medallion (1940 - )

Victoria, Australia


The Australian Natural History Medallion has been awarded annually since 1940 and is administered by the Field Naturalists Club of Victoria. It is awarded "to the person judged to have made the most meritorious contribution to the understanding of Australian Natural History. Such a person may have: assisted notably in the protection and understanding of Australian native flora and/or fauna; discovered and and/or described new Australian species of plants or animals; devoted considerable time and care to the study of any branch of Australian natural history, including palaeontology and geology, and engaged in the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of articles or books or by photography or pictorial art or any other means accepted by the Award Committee. Nominations for the Award may be submitted by natural history societies". (from 12/2.2019)

Related Corporate Bodies

Related People

Published resources


  • Houghton, Sheila, The history of the Australian Natural History Medallion (South Yarra, Vic.: Field Naturalists Club of Victoria, 1987), 20 pp. Details

Journal Articles

  • Corrick, M. G., 'Alison M. Ashby, 1975. Australian Natural History Medallionist', Victorian Naturalist, 93 (3) (1976), 95-96. Details
  • Endersby, Ian D., 'Australian Natural History Medallion', Victorian Naturalist, 122 (6) (2005), 326-30. Details
  • Garnet, J. Ros, 'The Australian Natural History Medallion: a survey of the first decade', Victorian Naturalist, 67 (9) (1950), 93-100. Details

Helen Cohn