Browse Entries

Award Kernot Memorial Medal (1926 - )

Victoria, Australia


The Kernot Memorial Medal is awarded for "Distinguished Engineering Achievement in Australia" and has been awarded annually since 1926. The award was established in to perpetuate the memory of Professor William Charles Kernot, the first professor of Engineering at the University of Melbourne, 1883-1909. The bronze medal is awarded by the faculty of Engineering, University of Melbourne upon the recommendation of a selection committee that consists of the heads of departments within the faculty, and two members of the faculty, appointed by the faculty, who do not hold teaching or research appointments in the University. It is open to persons resident in Australia for at least five out of the last seven years before the award.


In July, 1909, a committee of representative gentlemen, interested in the work of Professor William Charles Kernot, decided to establish some permanent memorial, recognising the work he had done in Australia.

An advisory sub-committee of about eight of the Presidents and Secretaries of the professional group of institutions, that were associated with his work, met and decided that a Kernot Memorial Medal be established on lines similar to those of the Telford Medal, awarded by the Institution of Civil Engineers in Great Britain.

In 1925, the money collected was placed in the trust of the University of Melbourne Council with the request that the interest be used to establish a medal to be awarded for high engineering achievement by an Australian engineer, with the award is to be made annually on the report of three assessors appointed by the Council of the University on the recommendation of the Faculty of Engineering.

The medal is awarded for "Distinguished Engineering Achievement in Australia"; and any person is eligible for the medal who has been resident in Australia for a period of not less than five years out of the seven years immediately preceding that in which the award is made.

However, it was not until June 1931 that the first awards were made for the years 1926 to 1930.

Related Corporate Bodies

Related People

Published resources

Journal Articles

  • Anon, 'Kernot Memorial Medal', Journal of the Institution of Engineers, Australia, 3 (1931), 304. Details

Ken McInnes