Browse Entries

Award Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture (1957 - )

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia


The Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture has been awarded by the Australian Academy of Science in alternate years since 1957. It recognises scientific research of the highest standing in the physical sciences, and honours the contributions of Australia's early scientific researchers. Only Fellows of the Academy are eligible to receive the Medal. The Medal is named after naval officer Matthew Flinders who circumnavigated Australia in 1801 to 1803 in H.M.S. Investigator.

Related Corporate Bodies

Related People

Helen Cohn