Browse Entries

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Corporate entry

  • Trove

Corporate entry Department of Air (1939 - 1973)

Commonwealth of Australia

13 November 1939
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
30 November 1973
Air Force, Defence Industries, Aviation or Aeronautical Industries and Advisory or regulatory body
Reference No
CA 35
Legal Status
Agency of the Commonwealth of Australia
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory


The Department of Air was established in 1939, as a result of the outbreak of the Second World War. During the war and up until 1959 the Department was located in Victoria Barracks in Melbourne. The Department moved to Canberra in 1959 and remained there until 1973, when its functions were taken over by the Department of Defence.

Published resources


Resource Sections

See also

Ailie Smith