Browse Entries

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Corporate entry

  • Trove

Corporate entry Institution of Surveyors, Australia (1952 - 2009)

Deakin, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 July 2009
Deakin, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Association and Society or membership organisation
Deakin, Australian Capital Territory


In 1952, a federation of the six existing state institutions resulted in the formation of the Institution of Surveyors, Australia. 'The primary objective of the Institution is to empower its members to strive for excellence in the application of the science and practice of surveying for the benefit of society.' taken from (28/11/00).


The Institution of Surveyors, Australia (ISA), the Australian Urban & Regional Information Systems Association (AURISA) and the Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Association of Australia (RSPAA) formed the Spatial Sciences Institute on 1/7/2003.

The Spatial Sciences Institute (SSI) and the Institution of Surveyors Australia (ISA) merged on 1/7/2009 and formed the Surveying & Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI).

Published resources

Journal Articles


See also

Ailie Smith and Ken McInnes