Browse Entries

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Corporate entry

  • Trove

Corporate entry Lymphocyte Differentiation Unit (1981 - 1996)

The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Medical Research


The Lymphocyte Differentiation Unit was created in 1981/1982 from components of the Biochemistry and Biophysics Unit. In 1996/97 the Unit was amalgamated with the Cellular Immunology and Thymus Biology Units to create the Immunology Division.


Research in the Lymphocyte Differentiation Unit was initially directed towards understanding the development and differentiation of both thymus-derived (T) and bone marrow-derived (B) lymphocytes. The Unit moved into a study of non-lymphoid thymic cells in 1983/84, with an increasing focus on the thymus. In 1985 the Hall Institute moved to its new Parkville premises and the Lymphocyte Differentiation Unit was given better facilities which allowed for an expansion of their work. They then began studying T-cell function in Leishmania infection, the responses of B-cells to malaria and non-lymphoid thymic cells. In 1993/94 the Unit switched focus to study two thymic cell lineages, T-lymphocytes and dendritic cells.

Published resources


Emily Geraghty & Annette Alafaci