Browse Entries

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Biographical entry

  • Trove

Biographical entry Morris, Bede (1927 - 1988)


10 June 1927
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 July 1988
Fontainbleau, France
Immunologist and Pathologist


Bede Morris was a professor in the Department of Immunology at the John Curtin School of Medical Research at the Australian National University 1970-1988. He graduated in veterinary science at the University of Sydney and pioneered the use of sheep and cattle as experimental animals. Morris was internationally recognised for his research on the functioning of the lymphatic system, and the immune system in particular. His work included the role of lymphocytes in development of immunity in reproduction and foetal development, and contributed to understanding lipid metabolism, endocrinology and organ transplantation. Morris served as Chairman of the Reserve Bank's Rural Credits Development Fund and as member of Council and Vice-President of the Australian Academy of Science. He was awarded both. the Chevalier dans l'Ordre National du Mérite and the Légion d'Honneur by the Government of France.



1945 - 1946
Career position - Served with the Australian Imperial Forces
Education - BVSc, University of Sydney
1952 - 1955
Career position - Research Fellow, Kanematsu Memorial Institute of Pathology, Sydney Hospital
1956 - 1958
Career position - Overseas Fellow, Australian and New Zealand Life Insurance Medical Research Fund, School of Pathology, University of Oxford
Education - PhD, University of Oxford
Career position - Senior Research Fellow, Kanematsu Memorial Institute of Pathology, Sydney Hospital
1958 - 1963
Career position - Senior Fellow, Department of Experimental Pathology, John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR), Australian National University
1960 -
Career position - Member of Council, Australian Physiological and Pharmacological Society
1963 - 1970
Career position - Professorial Fellow, John Curtin School of Medical Research, Australian National University
1969 - 1988
Award - Fellow, Australian Academy of Science
1971 - 1988
Career position - Professor and Head, Department of Immunology, John Curtin School of Medical Research
Career position - President, Section 16, Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science
1977 - 1980
Career position - Member of Council, Australian Academy of Science
1979 - 1980
Career position - Vice-President, Australian Academy of Science
1981 - 1985
Career position - Treasurer, Australian Academy of Science
Award - Legion d'Honneur, Government of France

Related Corporate Bodies

Published resources

Book Sections

Journal Articles


Resource Sections

See also

Digital resources

Bede Morris


Rosanne Walker and Helen Cohn